The Land of Smoke and Mirrors

In the past few days, some Hollywood production team set up shop in my neighborhood for a film shoot. They’ve basically taken a traditionally blue-collar Irish and French Canadian neighborhood which is fast undergoing gentrification and have tried transforming it into Bensonhurst, Brooklyn, New York.

A local thrift shop is now “Bensonhurst Discount”

What normally is a pretty good Peruvian roast chicken place is now “Joe’s”

This place is normally a pet supplies store, notice the fake sign.

My French cheese shop is now a candy store

My favorite tea room is now a travel agency.

Covering the sign of a notary’s office with the American flag.

The new Little Italy.

I have to admit, walking along my usual route to the subway station has been an amusing exercise the past few days. Watching how storefronts are transformed with fake props and posters, the hum of frantic energy the production crew gives off, running from here to there with longs cables, the security team that was set up at night to watch over  the props and set so no one would take anything, the director loudly barking out directions. It takes a lot of work to create artifice and illusion and cover up reality, I thought to myself.
That got me thinking about the whole nature of illusion and the power fake images exert on our lives. Marketing, public relations, branding, propaganda, Hollywood films, commercials, all of it plays basically the same hand over and over again: create an image, an idea, a meme, anything which somehow undermines a person’s self-confidence or somehow hits an underlying insecurity and brainwash them into thinking that this new product, this new exercise, this line uttered by that movie star or this image will somehow take care of that insecurity. It’s making money at the expense of human dignity and a complete disregard for the personhood of individuals.

Edward Bernays, Sigmund Freud’s nephew and the asshole who created marketing and PR.

The Europeans always looked at film as an art form while the Americans always looked at it as a business. That might explain why I prefer watching old movies, foreign films and independently-made movies over contemporary Hollywood blockbusters. For example, I personally can’t stand Steven Spielberg movies. With their cliched characters, wooden dialogue and the grandiose and pompous John Williams musical compositions, practically every time the music starts, it’s the most obvious cue that now you’re supposed to get your tear ducts ready. On the other hand watching films by directors like John Sayles, Louis MalleWim Wenders, Jim Jarmusch and Lars Von Trier have at times, left me elated after walking out of the cinema, with me thinking about the film for days afterwards. I remember watching Sayle’s film “Men with Guns” and feeling like I just stepped out of a lush dream, a deep meditation on war. More recently, Von Trier’s last movie, “Melancholia” left me speechless for days, particularly the impact of the last scene when viewed on a large movie screen.
Hollywood has always been known as the plastic and tinfoil dream machine, but real dreams can’t be manufactured and dictated. They come from a sacred place, somewhere deep within the human soul. Exploiting and hijacking that for a few dollars is just plain crude, vulgar and crass. Many of Hollywood’s “ideas” are informed by the cultural background of the large contingent of Eastern European Jews who founded Hollywood. Their ideas, their archetypal dreams have now been played over and over again to the point where they are now firmly embedded in the general culture and internalized by everyone else. That simply shouldn’t be.
I had my run-in with Hollywood too. When I went to LA to do the 11:11:11 ceremony at the Cross at Cahuenga, I stayed in downtown Hollywood, not far from the Graumann’s Chinese Theatre, where practically all film premieres take place.

Grauman’s Chinese Theater

The American Film Institute were showing a whole slew of movies there, so the barricades would go up every evening and the fans would line up for autographs and pictures while the stars walked the red carpet. Like some of you know, I had a huge crush on Micheal Fassbender so I thought it was more than a little coincidental that “Shame” was showing that night and Fassy would be there for the premiere.

Stunning on film, not so much in real life.

I waiting behind the barricade and watched the whole celebrity spectacle unfold before me. It was a pretty crisp evening and I was in jeans, a Smiths T-shirt, with a wool cardigan and I was still chilly. Two Scottish girls were there beside me and they were in full parkas. Then the starlets started coming out of their limos, wearing strapless and flimsy dresses. The 3 of us in line started commenting on how cold they must be. Some reporter asked one of the starlets what dress she was wearing and she replied with the name of some designer. The Scottish girls mentioned that they never heard of that name. I replied that it’s probably some celebrity fashion magazine like “In Style” asking the question and how these starlets are stupid for investing so much money on these dresses when it’ll go into the magazine this month and be completely forgotten about by next month’s issue. I think the starlet heard me say that because she gave me a dirty look afterwards.

The red carpet

Scratching his eyes

Fassy chatting with fans.

Up close.

Finally Fassy showed up. And…he was nowhere near as sexy in real life as I imagined him to be based on what I saw in the movies. In fact, he gave off a bit of sleazy and creepy vibe. Where was all that virility and smoldering sexuality that I saw in the films?  No where to be seen, that’s for sure. When he finally got to our spot in the line against the barricade, he looked at my T-shirt and flashed me a  grin. I felt repulsed.
One more illusion out the window.
Oh well.
Categories: Pop culture, Raise your EQ, Travels, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Land of Smoke and Mirrors

  1. searchingforfernando

    People don’t believe me when I tell them that the last film I saw in a cinema was in 1980. I believe that since the 1990′s there has been some kind of secret mind-control added to films (besides the obvious mind-control) because if I happen to be at someone’s home when the put on a DVD made after 1990, I start to feel sick to my stomach, and I have to leave the room. I love old movies too. Here are a few of my picks for great old movies: REBECCA (1940) , I KNOW WHERE I”M GOING (1945) THE GHOST AND MRS. MUIR (1947) TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE (1948) and THE QUIET MAN (1952) As far as I know, all are available on DVD.

  2. kezalu

    Hollywood: Land of Lost Souls. You have to feel a bit sorry for some actors, stripped of their own identity trying to fit the image, until even they don’t know who they are supposed to be anymore.
    Favourite classics to add to the list: CASABLANCA (1942), IT’S A WONDERFUL LIFE (1946).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

The Soloist

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Vit Peyr

My perspective on Australia

NOT NEW YORK

Exploring NYC's Spiritual Margins

The Empowered Sojourner

Jesus said, "Preach from your rooftops that which you will hear in your ear. For no one lights a lamp and puts it under a bushel, nor does he put it in a hidden place, but rather he sets it on a lampstand so that everyone who enters and leaves will see its light." (Gospel of Thomas, log 33)

Higher Density Blog

Love Is Always The Answer

Welcome to our MindMedicine blog!

Helping people to awaken into the fullness of who we really are- in love and peace...

YouGoAstrology.com

Psychic Tarot & Astrology Predictions

Drawing On Istanbul

Plein Air drawing in Turkey: blogging about the site and the process.

The Angry Black Woman

Politics, Race, Gender, Sexuality, Anger

Deconstructing Myths

Social justice is built one idea at a time...

shamanictracking

Opening doors to enhanced life experiences by uncovering the unseen

The Shift Has Hit The Fan

One person's perspective on the Earth's energetic shift

Confessions of a Pugophile

The joys and challenges of loving a pug

LEFT HOOK by Dean Henderson

A Weekly Whack at the Global Oligarchy

THE INTERNET POST

Welcome to TIP. ABC, CBS, NBC and all the cable news channels are all bought and paid for and report what they are told to report. The MSM lies to and instigates people into political argument and gossip that leads to dead-end roads and distracts from the real issues. There is much better informational news reporting away from the Democrat and Republican tail-spinning arguments that are usually rooted in confusion and hate.. TIP is your alternative.

FOR THE INTOLERANTS

Whether it's food, drink, shopping or sightseeing...being intolerant is never a bad thing

moonlitmoth

yoga and social justice

CaptainAwkward.com

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

MINDMILLS

Zihnimde Dönen Değirmenler

Lila

Playful, Healthful, Joyful Life!

Searching for Fernando

A True Story of Destiny, Astrology and the Virgin of Guadalupe.

The Babarazzi

Giving Yoga Culture The Star Treatment

linda's yoga journey

ramblings of a yoga subversive

Way of the Artchemist

Spread Love, make Peace; Inspiring Creativity of your uniqueness in all possibility!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

